Town Council Business photo
page icon

Town Council Business

Woodbridge Town Council discharges it's statutory duties through decisions made at public meetings. Members of the public are encouraged to attend .

Agendas & Minutes  •  Committees  •  Finances   

The Town Council was created in 1974 as the successor to the Urban District Council and is based in the Shire Hall, Market Hill. View further details of the Woodbridge Town Council Staff Team, where you can also view the organisational structure.

It is the 3rd tier of Local Government after Suffolk County Council and East Suffolk Council and deals only with the Town of Woodbridge.

The Town itself is split into 4 Wards; Farlingaye, Kyson, Seckford and Riverside and each ward has four Councillors. To view a map of the Wards and find details of the councillors who represent them see here.

The Town Mayor is Chairman of the Council; he/she is also the Civic Head of Woodbridge, representing the Town at many civic and other functions.

The Town Council meets on the third Wednesday of each month with the remaining standing committees meeting in turn on the remaining Wednesdays of the month. Meetings are held in the Council Chamber, Shire Hall, Market Hill, usually starting at 7pm – more information can be found on the Agendas and Minutes page.

The Town Council owns and maintains the Shire Hall and Market Square, Elmhurst Park, Kingston Field, The Garden of Remembrance and War Memorial, Fitzgerald Green (off Sun Lane), Broomheath and Fen Meadow. It also maintains the Quaker Burial Ground in Turn Lane (just of Church Street) on behalf of the owner. A map showing the areas of town under our jurisdiction can be seen here.

The Shire Hall Council Chamber is also an approved premises for Civil Ceremonies.

Learn about our Weddings

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our site.More details.